What are the 9 safety symbols?

Here are the nine safety symbols or pictograms and what they mean:

  • Exploding bomb - explosives
  • Flame - flammable 
  • Flame over circle - oxidising 
  • Corrosion - corrosive
  • Skull and Crossbones - acute toxicity
  • Environment - hazardous to the environment
  • Exclamation mark - health hazard/hazardous to the ozone layer
  • Health hazard - serious health hazard
  • Gas cylinder - gas under pressure

The material provided in this article is for general information purposes only. It is not intended to replace professional/legal advice or substitute government regulations, industry standards, or other requirements specific to any business/activity. While we made sure to provide accurate and reliable information, we make no representation that the details or sources are up-to-date, complete or remain available. Readers should consult with an industrial safety expert, qualified professional, or attorney for any specific concerns and questions.


Shop Tradesafe Products